SOS

SUPPORT OGLESBY SCHOOLS

S.O.S. is the Oglesby Public Schools' Parent-Teacher organization. All parents and guardians of our students, members of our community, and those employed by or on the school board for OPS District 125, are members of Oglesby S.O.S. Please plan on attending S.O.S. Meetings. We need you!

The best source of information about S.O.S. is on our Facebook page or our monthly newsletter.

SOS objectives are:

  • To assist teachers and the school administration in providing a quality educational environment for the children of District 125.

  • To support District #125 Band and Chorus and their music.

  • To support District #125 Athletic Programs.

  • To adhere to all policies and administrative procedures of District #125. The District will not be responsible for the S.O.S.'s business or the conduct of its members.

In the last 3 years, S.O.S. raised approximately $80,000 through fundraising. They included: the Fall fundraisers, Spirit Wear, Trivia Night, concession stand sales at home basketball and volleyball games, and other various fundraisers. All funds go back to Lincoln and Washington Schools, including the purchase of new curtains for the Washington School auditorium stage, STEM items for the library, providing books for the Washington School Book Club, uniforms for our athletic and scholastic teams, as well as band and choir uniforms. In years prior, we were also able to provide the schools with promethean boards and other technology items, hearing and behavioral software, physical education equipment, dictionaries and calculators. The money raised was also used to pay for field trips, reading incentives, family fun nights, Weekly Readers, Rusty TV, and other teacher and school needs as required.

The SOS also helps organize chaperones for field trips, band and chorus performances, various family nights, as well as helping with P.B.I.S. activities and celebrations. There are several different board positions in S.O.S., including, President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Fundraising, Activities, Music, Athletics and P.B.I.S. These positions are for one school year and are up for election each April.

2022-2023 S.O.S. OFFICERS

President: Amy Arthur (President@oglesbysos.org)
Vice President: Jen Zavsza (Vicep@oglesbysos.org)
Treasurer: Terri Combs (Treasurer@oglesbysos.org)
Secretary: Amanda Thompson (Secretary@oglesbysos.org)
Activities: Jessi Tune (Activities@oglesbysos.org)
Athletics: Ashley Vandewyngaerde (Athletics@oglesbysos.org)
Fundraising: Des Ratajcak & Rachel Lightle (Fundraising@oglesbysos.org)
Music: Carrie Mullane (Music@oglesbysos.org)
P.B.I.S. - Jen Does (PBIS@oglesbysos.org)

MEETING DATES FOR 2022-2023

All meetings are at 6:00 p.m. on the 2nd Tuesday of each month unless listed differently to accommodate school breaks. The meetings are held at Lincoln School in the cafeteria.

September 13, 2022
October 11, 2022
November 15, 2022
January 10, 2023
February 7, 2023
March 14, 2023
April 11, 2023
May 9, 2023

SOS MONTHLY NEWSLETTERS